String Block Tutorial

This month is my month to lead in the String me along quilting bee. I have been hoarding a pile of one of my favourite fabrics – Nicey Jane by Heather Bailey – for a while now so I thought it would be a perfect time to get it out to make a quilt for me!! The usual question of exactly what block to make came up and I considered a few different ones such as log cabins, bento boxes, mosaics but I finally took my inspiration from the group’s name and went for a string block.

I made the sample block above and incorporated a white strip in the middle of the block to make an interesting effect when all the blocks are put together. I will probably go for a criss cross effect like a mini quilt I made earlier in the year.

To help my fellow bee members make their blocks I have written a tutorial for piecing the block. This is the first time I have written a detailed tutorial and it may not be perfect but hopefully others will be able to follow it. I wished the photos were a bit better but due to the overcast weather they were the best I could get with the light available.

If you want to have a go at the tutorial you will find it under the tutorials menu  at the top of the page. If you have any questions or queries with the instructions leave  me a comment and I’ll get back to you as soon as I can.

I can’t want to start seeing everyone’s finished blocks and get them put together to make me a lovely quilt for my own bed for once!!

Comments

  1. I too love this line from Heather Bailey! I looked over your tutorial and I think it is great…the pictures are not too dark and clearly coincide with your instructions. I have bookmarked them to visit when I can finally create a string block quilt of my own. Thank yo uso much for sharing!

Leave a Reply

