Sunday Hexalong Update 4

Another busy week of sewing this week which included plenty of work on hexies!!

Last week:

Total No of hexies pieced together: 105

Total No of hexies waiting for piecing: 873

This week:

Total No of hexies pieced together: 131 (plus 26)

Total No of hexies waiting for piecing:  (960 plus 87)

I have pondered further on how big I am going to have to make this quilt. Basing my size on the 105 hexie block I had last week I will need 3 x 4 blocks which equals 1,260 hexies!!! Making the hexies isn’t too stressful as I only have to prep another 169 but sewing them all together will be a challenge.

I have started a bit of a production line of making them in rows and sewing the rows together. I’ve found that piecing the hexies into rows and then adding the rows is quicker than adding the hexies one at a time….I think its becuase there is less turning of the square which is getting harder as it gets bigger.

The movement of 26 pieced together hexies this week doesn’t seem much but I haven’t included any rows that I aren’t added to the main square yet. I do have quite a few rows prepped so I’m hoping progress will start to speed up for the rest of the month.

Leave a Reply

