Zig Zag crazy!!

For the past couple of weeks I have been trying to work on my doll quilt for the doll quilt swap. There are so many amazing quilters in the group that it is very intimidating. Every day someone seems to post a quilt which is just out of this world – I dont know where they find the time, ideas or energy but they do. The group is really friendly and its great being able to chat with everyone. Hopefully some of their energy and creativity will rub off on me!!

I have been stalking my partner, who is a very talented sewer/quilter , and came up with the idea of making a zig zag quilt. Although a simple design the focus would be on the piecing of very small blocks and the use of some amazing fabrics.

To make my practice quilt I used Joel Dewberry’s modern meadow fabrics teamed with plain white.

I hand quilted the zig zags in complimentary threads.

Finally I decided to bind it in the navy fabric which I think worked well although I would try harder to ensure the pattern was the same all the way round if I did it again.

I think it is a really eye catching block so I have started making the real dolls quilt using fabrics from Anna Maria Horners Good Folks range and Kaffe Fassett shot cottons…check in later in the week to see how it’s going!!

Comments

  1. I don’t think you need to feel intimidated. Your work is beautiful. The zigzags work really well. Should look fantastic in AMH. Juliex

Leave a Reply

