2011 sewing has started……scrappy mug rugs

The start of this year involved far, far too much work which left me no time at all for sewing. I did however do some late night surfing and signed myself up for some more great swaps so that I had plenty to do when the sewing machine came back out.

The first of these swaps was Scrappy Mug Rug Swap 3. I have seen so many people posting photos of the amazing mug rugs that they were making for the previous 2 rounds of the swap and I thought it would be a good to get in with the crowd!!! Take a look…http://www.flickr.com/groups/1533394@N22/

I have been rather poorly for the past few days with a cold/flu so as I was off work lying in my bed I had some time to think of ideas. We each have a secret partner and we are provided with their likes/dislikes and links to their flickr photostream and blog. This enables you to look around and get an idea of what they might like. There are also lots of discussions going on within the group that give you an insight into what they like.

I thought that as I was in bed and getting rather bored it might be good to have something that I could do while in bed. First I made a really simple block using some fabrics in my stash – including some precious good folk fabric from Anna Maria Horner. (I popped downstairs for half an hour to do this but the sewing machine set off my headache again. I had to dose up on nurofen and go back to bed for a couple of hours – that is payback for not listening to my family and staying in bed!!). 

This morning I lay on the sofa and added some hand quilting and embellishments – which wasn’t particularly taxing on the brain. I did get the sewing machine back out to add the binding but it was only for 10 minutes and there have been no ill effects yet!

I am really pleased with the finished mug rug. I think it is really pretty but of course it isn’t for me so I just hope my partner likes it. I added a button in the middle as I think it enhances the embroidery but my partner can snip it off if they don’t like it.

Finished mug rug

I may make some more as I quite enjoy making these little projects – it will depend on what time I have.

Now I just have to try and guess which mug rug in the group is for me – I’m so looking forward to getting mine! I made an inspiration gallery with lots of cake themed pictures:  http://www.flickr.com/photos/49053002@N02/5341840523/

I thought it would be good to look at lots of lovely cakes when I’m sitting at my desk – I just need to see what my partner comes up with.

Comments

  1. I love it! So if I’m your partner then no worries at all! And that little bit of Good Folks does all the wonder! 🙂 My fave! Great hand stitching there too! Hope you’re feeling better now! 🙂

  2. LOVE the embellishments! beautiful! 🙂

Leave a Reply

