An Autumn tree for Cat……

I have been trying to get my October sewing bee blocks finished today so I can get them in the post tomorrow …. I’ve been feeling particularly guilty about how late I was sending my September blocks back!

The project I have been working on is for the Fresh and Funky Quilting Bee. Cat asked us to make a tree block. Each of us received a different season and I got Autumn with lots of oranges and browns. Cat was inspired by a pattern in Material Obsession 2 but basically left us to do what we wanted except it needed to incorporate the following:

  1. The trunk had to be an appliqued trunk made by drawing around our own hand.
  2. Some of the owl fabric that she enclosed in the fabric pack must be used in the block.
  3. Of course the most important  thing was that we had to have a tree on the block!

Cat provided us with an inspiration gallery: http://www.flickr.com/photos/50374158@N02/galleries/72157624649197444/

So many of the blocks in the gallery are amazing…it was really hard to decide what to do. It wasn’t helped by the blocks members have already posted which are awesome. Anyway I’ve had a go……

I’m a bit worried it doesn’t look tree like but all my family say it does look a tree so hopefully I can get away with it. I suspect the quilting will be important as it can probably be used to make it look like there are more branches.

Cat said we could make any embellishments we wanted so I added some flowers under the tree. I kept the flower colour theme the same as the tree so they blended in and picked up on the green in the tree for the stem colour.

Overall I am pleased with how it came out….. I just hope Cat likes it too!

Leave a Reply

