Chicken Sunday

We’ve had a really busy day today working in the garden. It’s that time of year when the garden has been growing like mad, you look out the window and realise it’s a jungle out there!!

Anyway, in between all that gardening I have finished off a project Cupcake Princess and I were working on during the week – a stuffed toy chicken. I bought a pattern at the Malvern show weeks ago which was for a log cabin chicken with an interior pocket for a creme egg. We decided we didn’t want to do the log cabin work, and we didn’t need a pocket so there was some improvisation required (as is usual for our projects!).

I made up a chicken yesterday and then dug out the toy stuffing this morning to finish it off. I’m fairly happy with the results although if I make another one I think I’ll alter the tail feathers a little bit. I chose lots of bright dot and spot fabric to give it a modern feel. What do you think?

Chicken Softie

I’ve been thinking that I could fill the toy with lentils or beans and turn it into a doorstop.

I have also been working on some new place mats for Cupcake Princess to use but I’ll tell you all about those tomorrow.

I have started to look through magazines, books and the web for projects that I want to do for Christmas. It is the Festival of Quilts at the NEC in Birmingham this week and I’ll be going to take a look on Friday so it will be a perfect opportunity to pick up any fabrics or embellishments that I may need. I’m getting excited already……

Comments

  1. I love these!!!

Leave a Reply

