Stitching the garden…..

While on holiday I took the opportunity to do some hand applique. I have so many projects part completed waiting for me to do the applique and I don’t often have large periods of time to get to work on them.

I took the fused blocks for my Aunt Millie’s Garden quilt with me. Although 5 have been fused only one has been fully appliqued. I’m pleased to say that I managed to complete two more blocks….which involved many hours of stitching sitting in the back of the car.

Block Six Appliqued

Close up of centre

Close up of individual flower

Block 4 appliqued

Block 4 close up

It was quite fitting that I worked on this project as I bought the pattern whilst on holiday in Devon last year. I bought it from a really nice patchwork shop in Bovey Tracey called Serendipity Quilts. The people are so friendly & helpful and have a lovely range of fabrics.

We popped in again this holiday and picked up a new project that Cupcake Princess wants us to do – a Flower Fairy quilt using the flower fairy range from Michael Miller Fabrics. We decided to go for the cornflower fairy:

Flower Fairy Fabrics

We bought one of the big panels, a couple of fairy frost fabrics and then a big piece of fabric with small images of the cornflower fairy on. Come back in a few days and we should have an update on progress with the project….stitching has already started!!

Comments

  1. Stunning applique work..your work is so precise…I can’t even cut properly let alone sew neatly. I can’t wait to see what you do with the fairies.

    xxh

Leave a Reply

