What a hoot…..

We didn’t work on our Koalas yesterday as planned by Cupcake Princess as I decided that after the russian doll stresses I couldn’t face making more stuffed toys!

Instead I set to work using some of the fabrics we picked up at Malvern. We bought some What a hoot! fabric from the Puddleducks stall….they had a fab quilt made from it on display and Cupcake Princess really liked it. Unfortunately they had already sold out of the coordinating fabric with larger owls on but we picked up a metre of Love U fabric from Moda which had a very similar green background colour. When we got home I pulled together some other coordinating fabrics that could be used to make a lap quilt/picnic rug/play mat.

What a hoot fabrics

I spent yesterday afternoon cutting and piecing. I decided not to use the blue and green fabrics and stick to squares in orange, yellow and red as I think it coordinated well with the background fabric and also gave it a really nice spring look.

I am really pleased with the finished top…now I just have to quilt it and decide what I’m going to do with it when it’s finished. I think it would make a nice little picnic rug, but it depends what backing fabric I have in my cupboard.

What a hoot!

I really love the owl fabric they have great expressions. As there are so many different colours in the owls you could use the fabric in lots of different colourways….I was tempted initially to use a lot of turquoisey blues but I’m glad that I went with the option that I did as it’s a bit more girly.

What a hoot! close up

Comments

  1. CUTE! love the owls!

  2. Very cute stuff you have here on your blog. Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting. Be sure to stop by on Friday to see if you won!

  3. Jindi's Cottage says:

    Love the owls…I participated in an Owl Block Swap recently and I think that fabric would be perfect to pull the various blocks together. Thanks for the inspiration…now to see if I can find some online…

Leave a Reply

