A labour of love……

I promised to show you some of my part made projects that I found in my cupboard….and I am starting with a project I must have started about 7 years ago from Kaffe Fassett’s Patchwork book. 

Kaffe Fassett Jewel Squares...quilt in progress

 The pattern is described as Jewel Squares Blind and is actually the cover project. Kaffe uses a primarily red theme but I went for green and blue to go with my bedroom. Kaffes design is to make a blind as the squares look beautiful with sunlight behind them….didn’t quite come through in my photo. I think the blind would be too much for my husband but in my naivety at the start of my patchwork career I didn’t think a quilt would take much more effort. 

This may look like the finished project but it is in fact about a quarter of the double bedspread that I intended to make…… 

I started off doing a lot of the piecing by hand…must have been mad! But I then progressed to machine piecing. I have a set of boxes that are full up with different sized blocks and a bigger box full of all the strips that I cut for making more blocks. 

About once a year I dig the boxes out and piece a few more squares. I do have other big pieces where I have joined the blocks together but this is definetly the biggest. 

Kaffe Fassett Jewel Squares close up

 I absolutely love the look of it and I can see a history of my fabrics through the design as each year I add a few new fabrics to the strips. I have to make sure that I keep a good mix of old and new blocks going so that the various phases aren’t too obvious in the finished project. 

My stitching together isn’t perfect…and I’m jealous of all of you who do keep the 90 degree corners going, but I feel it has a handmade feel and is truly my labour of love.

Comments

  1. The colours in your blocks are amazing! Its stunnig.

  2. Queen Mother says:

    I think this is a great, vibrant quilt that would look fantastic on any bed – how long has it taken (actual working hours) so far? Do you by any chance have any other quilts that are unfinished – how I would love one for my spare bedroom now that I’m moving again!! I will have to work on Cupcase Princess and get her on my side!

    • Queen Mother…thank you for your supportive comment…I will post what you may be looking for sometime soon!! Maybe you need to have a nice pinky/purple bedroom in your new house!

  3. Oh my, this is a stunning quilt! The colors are absolutely breathtaking – you have done a superb job.

  4. everydaychaos says:

    This is just gorgeous! I love the blues and the little pops of red. It’s fantastic!

  5. This is absolutely gorgeous…the pops of pink are just beautiful. You have amazing color sense!

  6. this is too gorgeous not to finish!!!! keep at it!

  7. Oh My, that is Beautiful!!! I have definitely seen the original pattern & colors, but I absolutely love your colors!

Leave a Reply

