All aboard the yellow submarine…..

One square of the 'Yellow Submarine'....

 

At Christmas when the family were over I got out my daughters old play mat and my brother mentioned that Ethan didn’t have one so I thought it would be a good present from Aunty.  

I scoured the fabric shops looking for something suitable for a little boy and I came across a great fabric at the Fat Quarter Shop that had an ocean theme. The fabric was called Snorkel and is from Andover fabrics. As it was for a play mat I chose some nice bright colours and added a splash of primary yellow that I had in my stash. I chose a plain bubble effect fabric from the range for the back of the mat and kept the play mat size to the width of the fabric so I didn’t have to have any awkward joins. I wanted to keep the actual piecing itself really simple as I wanted something durable and easy to wash.  

What do you think? I think it is fab…I was really happy with the finished mat.  

The full quilt front

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  
And I think the backing went really well too……they could use either side to play on.

Co-ordinating fabric on the back.....

 

Leave a Reply

