Sewing for Pleasure

Went to the Sewing for Pleasure show at the NEC last Friday. I was a little disappointed that there wasn’t more quilting accessories, books and fabrics but still enjoyed the outing.

Fabrics

I went to look for some specific bits and bobs and got most of them. The best thing was that I was able to pick up some apple fabric that I’ve been searching for for a few weeks. I had spotted it in John Lewis but when I went in to get some they had sold out. and despite looking through local fabric shops hadn’t managed to find another source. I want this fabric as I have a work friend who is obsessed by Apple products. He is eagerly awaiting the release of the {new product} and there has been much discussion about whether he needs a man bag to carry the {new product} in. I thought it would be really funny to make him one out of apple fabric….but I wanted to use some graphic fabric rather than anything too girly. I also picked up some coordinating dot fabric to lessen the girliness a bit….although obviously it is quite hard to stop red fabric being girly!! Now all I need to do is decide on a pattern…I picked up a pattern at the Festival of Quilts last year that might do or I might use my new Bag book.

Ribbons, buttons & ric rac

I managed to buy some really good embellishments. I love having a box full of ribbons, ric rac and buttons to add to my projects. Cupcake Princess and I frequently get the boxes out and root around to get inspiration for a new project. I have to admit though that it may be time to reduce the picking up of random bits as the craft cupboard has now overflowed into a number of plastic storage boxes. That in itself isn’t too stressful but despite intending to keep them in the garage they keep appearing in the living room and dont go back too often…much to my husbands annoyance!!

I picked up a couple of books to add to my rather bulging library of sewing books and magazines. As you will have seen from previous blogs I am going through a bit of a bag making phase so I wanted to extend the patterns that I have. The book that I selected uses a freestyle methodology which suits the way I like to work. The second book is a book full of quilting gifts. It’s got some really beautiful projects and I think there are quite a few that I will make over the next few weeks….. I have some friends who would love some of the little mats and trinket bags.

Sew What! Bags by Lexie Barnes

Quilt a gift by Barri Sue Gaudet

Leave a Reply

