Quilting Bee Catch Up

As well as working on my scrappy mug rug this weekend I have been trying to catch up with my bees. Unfortunately I was so focused on getting my own bee fabrics out last month that I got behind with the blocks I needed to do for other groups.

String Me Along Bee – April

Franswimmer asked us to make a modified bento box block. She provided some batik fabrics and asked us to use a tutorial from Film in the Fridge http://www.filminthefridge.com/2009/06/24/quartered-squares-a-modified-bento-box-block-tutorial/ . We were to follow all the instructions for the tutorial but not to cut the block into four as she wants to do that herself.

I found the instructions easy to follow and had the block put together in no time. I may try making some blocks with my own fabrics and see how the finished block comes out.

String Me Along – May

Don’t Call Me Betsy asked us to make drunk love/square in square blocks using a fabric range called Swoon. We were provided with a gallery of her favourite blocks with notes on what she liked about them http://www.flickr.com/photos/52413104@N03/galleries/72157625849379590/ plus and a link to a tutorial from Quilt Dad http://www.quiltdad.com/2009/09/quilt-along-5-wonky-squares-in-squares.html. The only specific requirement was not to make it wonky but to add some ‘unexpected piecing’.

I’ve made a few similar blocks for bees now so hopefully I did a good job….it doesn’t look wonky to me!

Calendar of Houses – April

As usual the challenge for the Calendar of Houses block was to do something that represented April. I noticed there were a lot of comments about April showers and I had a couple of fabrics for my Bee Library quilt that featured umbrellas so it seemed like the perfect theme.

I tried to make a house that had an umbrella roof…it didn’t quite come out as umbrella like as I wanted but I think you get the general feel of April showers from all the umbrellas.

I also added some hand embroidery for some little button flowers in the garden.

Phew…all caught up now but I have more packages winging their way to me plus 2 swaps to finish so next weekend should be busy. Oh…I’m also about to join another exciting swap but I’ll tell you about that another day!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

